06
Mar
10

Resident Evil 4

How much do I love this game? SO MUCH.

Growing up, I wasn’t interested in shooters. Goldeneye left me cold. I played Halo’s campaign on co-op and enjoyed it, but never felt a burning desire to pick it up again. I didn’t start playing Resident Evil 4 until 2006, but as soon as I began, I fell madly in love.

I played the first part of the game on a teeny-tiny TV in a dorm room, while I was working as a counselor at an arts-intensive for teenagers. They were a pretty well-behaved bunch, but there was still nothing better to let off steam at the end of the day than having the shit scared out of me by Plagas-infected Spanish villagers, and fighting them off with my ever-growing arsenal. It was truly terrifying on that tiny TV, though, since I couldn’t see what was coming for me half the time.

I could, however, see El Gigante on the tiny TV. It was an intimidating sight.

Resident Evil 4 engaged me with its potent combination of fright and firepower. Shooters that didn’t offer visceral scares had previously bored me, but there was no way in hell I’d touch a survival horror game in which I had to run and hide from the baddies instead of blowing them away. RE4 offered just enough ammo that the gameplay was challenging, but doable. If I did run out of ammunition, I always had my trusty knife and a kick combo that knocked off enemies’ heads. The weapons got better and better as the enemies got harder and harder, and I gained confidence in my ability to kick mutated-parasite ass. Suplexing creepy, zombie-esque monks was an unparalleled experience.

Shotguns are my particular favorite.

And the button prompts! Never before had I played a game in which I wasn’t safe during the cutscenes. It was heartbreaking to mistakenly press RT/LT instead of A/B and see Leon get crushed by a boulder or fall off of a cliff, but oddly satisfying when I succeeded and realized, heart pounding, how narrowly I’d escaped a gruesome death. The art direction and sound design of RE4 were absorbing, and the button-pushing cutscene action made the whole experience more immersive. My eyes were glued to the screen, fingers ready on my Gamecube controller, throughout the entire game.

You've got to be quick with buttons to duel with Krauser.

Normally I’m a sucker for a good story. Most of my favorite games feature a complex, engaging plot, well-written and voice acted dialogue, and serious character development with a focus on character relationships. Not RE4. This game’s plot, to be quite frank, was one of the stupidest, most nonsensical things I’ve ever played through. The power of this game, however, is such that I did. not. give. a. damn. Honestly, the cheesy dialogue probably improved the game for me by giving me a break from the intensity of the gameplay. “Krauser, go get the girl.” “Where’s everyone going? Bingo?” It never gets old.

I loved the merchant, despite his persistent refusal to sell ammunition. His absence was high on the list of my many problems with Resident Evil 5. The shooting galleries in RE4 were a blast, and considerably improved my shooting skills for engagement with “real” enemies.

"OVER HERE, STRANGER!"

And Leon. Oh, Leon, my longest-lasting video game crush. The leather jacket, the ill-conceived snarky one-liners, the vaguely emo-esque haircut that somehow stays in place through everything: I’ll never forget you, Leon Scott Kennedy.

Dreamy!

When Saddler is finally done away with, the jet ski successfully jumped into the Atlantic, and the main game finished, Assignment: Ada is good times and the Mercenaries minigame—in addition to being fun—is absolutely necessary to master in order to have a hope of surviving the main game on its “Professional” setting.

I love this game so much the sound of a chainsaw revving still makes me jump. It’s time to grab my riot gun and annihilate an El Gigante or two.

4 Responses to “Resident Evil 4”


  1. 1 jmitch
    June 11, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    I agree completely. And the merchant needs a bigger fan base. “Come back anytime.”

  2. 2 Ann
    December 7, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Leon is dreamy, hes my longest-lasting video game crush too 🙂

  3. February 8, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    I played the original Resident Evil game back when I had a Sony Playstation many years ago (yes, I’m old).
    I played the Director’s Cut version over and over again. I then played RE2 and loved it as well. I slowed down from gaming but I watched my brother play Nemesis and Code Veronica for different consoles years later and I really liked those too.

    A couple of years ago I purchased Resident Evil 5 for myXbox 360 and hated it. I sold it immediately. It was more of an action game without the dark, creepy experience I had with the older versions. I then remembered watching my uncle play Resident Evil 4 about six years ago and I thought it was phenomenal…but I never got a chance to play it. I just watched in awe. I also speak Spanish so I had a blast listening to the evil dialogue.

    Last year I got the opportunity to download Resident Evil 4 to my Xbox 360. I did so immediately. I was so excited because I always wanted to play this game, but I wanted to start playing at the right moment so I have waited until now to try it out.

    I started playing it a few days ago for the first time ever…I absolutely love it!

    I realize that the “cool” kids are so over this game but as an adult who doesn’t play many video games, I just had to share this information with someone who has enjoyed this experience as much as I have (to this point).

    My fiancee sits there and watches me play it. She won’t watch me play anything else. She hates when I play Halo…lol

    • February 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      Aaah, that would be so fun to understand the dialogue! What are they saying?

      I ain’t got no shame about playing old videogames; they’re cheaper and just as much fun as they were when they came out (for the most part). I’m with your fiancee, too. Halo is a boring game to watch, but RE4 is more of a fun horror movie experience when your significant other/buddy is playing it. With potential for interactivity, too: “Watch out watch out WATCH OUT!! THERE’S ONE BEHIND YOU!”


Leave a Reply

